Home > Cricket Development, Nepal, UAE > League and Knock out cup…

League and Knock out cup…

I think I have figured out a solution for the ICC Asia region, whether there should be a league structure or Cup structure.

I think there should be both. Europe style 3 six team divisions, and also a sub regional knockout cup. That way, you will ensure that the best teams are getting the best oppurtunities, and at the same time you will be able to spot rapidly improving teams in the regions and cater to their needs. But the asia cup qualification, or the ICC trophy qualifications should be based on the league’s first division. If this were the case, I think the division 1 league would contain the following teams: UAE, Nepal, Malaysia, Qatar, Kuwait and Oman. Division 3 will contain China, Brunei, Bhutan, Myanmar, Maldives and Iran, and Division 2 will contain the rest i.e. Afghanistan, Bahrain, Thailand, Saudi Arabia, Hong Kong and Singapore. Division 1, which would also be the regional qualifier, could be held every two years, and the Division 3 could be held the same year. The next year, Division 2 could be held, with the bottom team from there relegating to Div 3 and the top team promoting to Div 1. As more countries come into the fold of the ACC, a division 4 can be created. I think the maximum this will go to is 6 divisions, because there would not be any more countries in the region.

I think in this case, ACC definitely needs to take a leaf out of ECC’s book.

Categories: Cricket Development, Nepal, UAE
  1. Nishadh Rego
    June 23, 2006 at 12:27 pm

    I think this is an interesting idea, however it is only UAE, Nepal, and possibly Afghanistan who are considerably stronger than the other nations in the Asian region, and at least 9 other sides (Qatar, Bahrain, Oman, Kuwait, Singapore Hong Kong, Maldives,Malaysia Thailand) are almost equal in the strength of their senior teams and separating them into different divisions might not give them an equal shot at ICC Trophy qualification. With place for 1 or 2 relegation and promotion spots between the divisions, it may take years before a country like Singapore, Thailand, or Qatar might qualify to division 1, giving them a shot at qualifying for the ICC Trophy once in 6 to 8 years.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: