Home > General Cricket > What exactly is ODI standard?

What exactly is ODI standard?

With the ICC giving 6 new countries an ODI status for nearly 3.5 years, this debate has started off once again about them not being ODI standard. Some say that they are not ODI standard because they do not stand a chance to win a match against the big guns (which excludes Bangaldesh and Zimbabwe at the momment). Some say that they are not ODI standard because the big guns are not interested in playing them etc.

Similar criticim was made against Bangladesh, and they made a field day for their critics by losing to Canada in WC 2003. In 2005 however, they have managed to keep their critics quiet through a victory against Australia, India, and also a series win against Zimbabwe. The last one does not feature alongwith the the others, but at least it directs the critics elsewhere who are hell bent upon getting the weakest ODI nation kicked out of the foray.

Back to topic. I have been wondering what exactly an ODI standard is. Does it mean victory? If so, then what percentage? If not, then what does it mean? To me, an ODI standard is defined as the following:

1) An outright victory against an established ODI nation**
2) A loss to an established ODI nation** where while chasing the team makes 80% of established nation’s total (e.g. crossing 240 while chasing 300)
3) A loss to an established ODI nation** where while restricting the team manages to push the game to at least 90% of the alloted overs (45 overs in the regular matches)
4) A loss to an established ODI nation** where while restricting the team manages to take at least 5 wickets or more.
** An established nation is a test playing country excluding Bangladesh and Zimababwe currently, because critics dont agree on whether they themselves are ODI standard or not.

Any of the above will make the performance an ODI standard level. If this definition is taken into consideration, then it appears that Bangladesh have played 6 ODI standard games in their last 20 matches. Zimbabwe too have played 6, while West Indies have played 12 and Sri Lanka 15. Australia on the other extreme, have played all 20 ODI standard games. But there are some other stats to take into consideration. New Zealand, in their 1990 season, had only 10 of their 20 matches as ODI standard, while Sri lanka in the 1986-87 season had only 9 out of 20. Of course, I have never heard anyone call for the expulsion of ODI records for New Zealand in 1990, or Srilanka in 1986-87 series (incidently, Srilanka in 1986 had spent exactly the same amount of time in test arena as Bangladesh in 2005 i.e. 5 years). So exactly how many victories out of 20 will make a team ODI standard? Or exactly how many ODI standard matches out of 20 will make a team ODI standard?

I think that if a team gives at least half of its matches as ODI standard by my definition above, it should be considered ODI standard overall. Then the sky should not come falling down when it loses badly in the other half.

Categories: General Cricket
  1. Shaiya
    September 27, 2009 at 9:11 pm

    Sorry, but I would like to know what ODI in cricket stands for.

    Please let me know

  2. September 30, 2009 at 7:23 pm

    One Day Cricket, the 50 over game.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: