Home > Cricket Development, Ireland, Namibia, Nepal, Scotland, USA > Best Associates from U19 WC

Best Associates from U19 WC

So how do we rank them in the end? It looks like the official rankings of the Associates are the following:

Nepal
USA
Ireland
Uganda
Namibia
Scotland

In my opinion, Nepal rank the chart like their official standing. They beat a test nation, and lost to another by only 2 runs. This latter loss saw them knocked out of the super league reckoning, otherwise they would have been playing in the quarters of the tournament. Who knows, they may be able to defeat NZ today and make it 2 victories against Test sides today !!

Ireland is the number 2 ranked team in my opinion. Their 2 losses against test teams have been by 4 runs (Eng) and a shock defeat due to an astonishing innings by a Kiwi batsman, by 2 wickets in the last over (NZ).

The third team for me has been, surprise surprise, USA. Not because of their overall standing, but because I was expecting them to finish last in the tournament and also get humiliated in every game. But they managed to beat Namibia, and also managed to put up a good show against the other teams, making many of their matches what I would call ‘ODI standard’ (see my blog entry on this issue)

All of Namibia, Scotland and Uganda have had a torrid time. Uganda were unable to compete, while Scotland managed to give a bit of a scare to Sri Lanka in their first match, but went downhill from there. Namibia were pretty much unnoticeable in the tournament. I dont know if that is something good or bad for an associate team. Uganda would be disappointed because they have one of the best junior programmes for cricket in the world, and they also have a lot of interest and particiaption in the game (about 30K total players, 20K of them are juniors). Plus they have cricket in most of their schools. So for them to not be able to compete at the U19 level is difficult to understand.

Previously I have been mentioning that the WC for U19 should be a 20 team event, with 4 qualifiers from the regions, and the 16 ODI countries. Now I am thinking that ICC perhaps had it right. See, with 16 total teams it still is tournament of the highest of standards, but maybe 20 teams would dilute that.

  1. Cuen Lucas
    February 18, 2006 at 1:45 pm

    I seel Nepal have just beaten New Zealand as well.

  2. Sobhit Man Shrestha
    February 19, 2006 at 7:58 am

    What do u expect better than this from an associate member…….
    Congratulation!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Sobhit Man Shrestha
    February 19, 2006 at 8:06 pm

    By now ACC may have been notice that what the match practice with big wows is all about. As I said before NEPAL didn’t get proper match practice which is shown in the field earlier. But they learnt their mistake from those matches & deliver at last what they are. That was the great victory….

    & so on I request ACC through this site to provide proper match practice with the big guns for their upcoming Intercontinental playoff. Time is running out…………

  4. February 20, 2006 at 12:29 am

    Sobhit, I dont think that ACC will come and check out my blog 🙂 So you will probably be better off emailing them, or getting some articles published in Nepalese Newspapers, or getting some member of CAN to take up the issue with the ACC.

  5. Sobhit Man Shrestha
    February 20, 2006 at 8:12 pm

    I have mailed them & had mailed before as well. I got reply there from Sultan Rana of ACC. But I think, he is not so positive about NEPALI CRICKET.

    So, it gives me a doubt that my views do not reach to ACC authorities. Do you have any other contact address which goes directly to the authorities?

  6. February 20, 2006 at 11:28 pm

    Only a dud can NOT be positive about Nepal at the U19 level. The fact that they beat SA in the World Cup also adds to my point in one of my previous blogs about the mistake that the ACC made in not calling them to the ACC Afro Asia U19 tournament, and instead calling SA.

    I am surprised that you did manage to get an email reply from Sultan Rana, because I have never received any reply from ACC. I only used the email address that is there on their website. Sultan Rana does belong to the ACC, so I think you did manage to reach the right people.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

