Home > Scotland > News: Majid Haq cannot play for Scotland vs Ireland because…

News: Majid Haq cannot play for Scotland vs Ireland because…

This is quite funny, so I will just quote CricketEurope.net:

“Of all the explanations for pulling out, Haq’s was the most bizarre. “I’m really disappointed because I was looking forward to playing Ireland again, with all their left-handers,” said the off-spinner. “But my Dad runs a takeaway in Paisley and I have to help out this weekend because my mum and brother are both away in Pakistan, one of our chefs is unavailable and our delivery driver has gone to jail for three weeks.”

Nice…..

I think ICC needs to have an intercontinental game abandoned due to work commitments of players for the point to be kicked in the their heads…….

Categories: Scotland
  1. Art
    August 7, 2007 at 6:20 pm

    My Dear Mr. Haq,

    Please do the following.

    In your father’s takeaway shop in paisley put up a large sign that firstly says;

    My son is proudly playing cricket for Scotland today. please excuse the current poor service we are very excited.

    Get one of your friends to help out in the shop and get him to keep pointing to the sign when a customer walks in.

    With ever order put in a note explaining why you are short staffed and apologise for this one off inconvience.

    You want a bet you won’t get a big boost in business.

  2. August 7, 2007 at 8:06 pm

    Actually Art….. thats not a bad idea…… I would be very very surprised if the customers would mind that the kid is playing for Scotland……..
    now you only need to somehow get this information out to Haq :):)

  3. August 8, 2007 at 1:42 am

    Indeed, in the current climate in Scotland, a young Muslim going out to represent Scotland can only do good things for his father’s business!

  4. Art
    August 8, 2007 at 3:57 am

    Well Nasir you are the man with the contacts, I only think them up lol.

    However there is another solution. My wife’s family left Scotland around 145 years ago. Now by all the new rules I probably qualify for Sotland because of kinship and I would be proud to wear the colours of Scotland in a match. Mind you first slip would be cosy and batting number 11 sounds good.

    I just fail to understand how anyone would not want to represent his country, a good performance here would see a county calling (they just about take anyone these days).

    Perhaps I’ll run an add in the local paper saying how he refused to play for Scotland. hmmm.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

