Archive

Archive for June 13, 2006

News: Ireland lose to England…

June 13, 2006 12 comments

But contrary to my expaectations, given that Ireland were without Eion Morgan and O Brien, it was a very very good effort by the Irish. I mentioned in one of my previous blog entries a long time back that I consider an ODI standard to be one where while chasing, the second team can at least manage to make 80% of the runs. Ireland managed to do much better than that with chasing down 87% of the target, and avoiding an Aus v Nam type farce that did so much harm to the development of cricket in associates cause.

I havent as yet read the report on how successful the event was, and how much the crowd enjoyed, but at least the Ireland team did their job in ensuring that in a future such event, people would come out again to back the team.

Categories: Ireland